Trip to Borzynski’s Farm: Goats and Apples and Corn, Oh My!

Apples

Last week, instead of my usual Friday activities of thinking about doing homework, thinking about doing my laundry, and thinking about cleaning my apartment, I went to a farm. The Borzynski’s Farm in Wisconsin, actually, which is where a lot of Northwestern Dining’s cabbage comes from – so thank you, Borzynski’s, for the cabbage that enables me to consider, however briefly, eating vegetables at least once a week.

One of my best friends at Northwestern had confessed to me a few weeks prior that, as a child, her dream job had been as a farmer – so, of course, when the opportunity came up to go to a farm with Northwestern Dining, we jumped on it. And so, after an hour-long ride in the nicest bus I’ve ever been on (leather seats! Flat screen TV!), we arrived at picturesque Borzynski’s, populated with the cutest pumpkins I’ve ever seen and also a seven-foot-tall farmer oddly reminiscent of the Green Giant.

Goat

After taking some selfies with a seriously attention-seeking goats, we climbed aboard a truck for our first activity – a hay ride tour of the farm, through corn fields that look a little too much like the ones from The Lovely Bones for comfort and a pumpkin patch with vaguely threatening scarecrows. Would I suggest going here for Halloween? Absolutely.

Corn maze

Next stop: the corn maze. If I ever thought that my spatial skills were at least middle school-level, this corn maze definitely proved me wrong. I also can’t tell the difference between one row of corn and another, as I quickly discovered when we walked through the same loop four times before coming to the shocking realization that we should maybe start taking the occasional left fork.

Then, as a reward for escaping the corn maze – where we somehow managed to find all of the word clues but none of the picture clues – we got to make our own caramel apples!

Caramel apples

More accurately, I had a little apple with my bowl of caramel, peanuts and sprinkles. From here we went to a farm-to-table BBQ dinner with some of the freshest vegetables I’ve ever had, and got to hear from the farmer about what it’s like to run a farm.

Prior to visiting Borzynski’s, I had always imagined farming as an idyllic, rustic experience where people wore lots of denim and made hay while the sun shone. Apparently, it’s more a case of making hay when there’s a market for hay, and hoping that the sun will conveniently shine during that time. After one last run into the farmer’s market, where I got myself a lifetime supply of the most delicious caramel, we boarded the bus back to Northwestern, having lost a week’s worth of grocery money but also having gained something a lot more important – a little more of an understanding of what goes into our food and why it’s so important to eat local.

Leave a Reply

